Living wages are paid

Definitions of different types of agricultural worker in England and Wales


  • Grade 1:  Initial Grade

  • Grade 2:  Standard Worker

  • Grade 3:  Lead Worker

  • Grade 4:  Craft Grade

  • Grade 5:  Supervisory Grade

  • Grade 6:  Farm Management Grade

  • Full Time Flexible Worker

  • Part Time Flexible Worker

  • Apprentice

  • Trainee

Deciding which grade or category applies to an individual worker depends on their contract of employment, the number of hours they work, when they work those hours, their responsibilities, qualifications and various other factors explained below. Written particulars of employment may further help to clarify which category of agricultural worker a person falls into.

For more detail see the AWO 2010

Previous page: AWO obligations
Next page: AWO Northern Ireland